Forbidden Sister by: V.C. Andrews

V.C.. Andrews My love for reading started when I was very young.  I would rather read a book then do most things.  My favorite series as a child was the Babysitters Club series.  I then moved up to Sweet Valley Twins and Sweet Valley High but I will never forget the very first “forbidden” book I ever read; Flowers in the Attic, by V.C. Andrews.  I say that the book was forbidden because I was usually only allowed to read books appropriate for my age level and that was not one of them at the time.  I don’t know how I got away with reading it, but I did.  I remember that I was hanging out with my childhood friend and she had borrowed the book from her friend.  When it was my turn to borrow the book, I was nervous and excited all at the same time.  I do recall enjoying the book but I also remember thinking it was unlike anything that I had ever read.  So thank you Amy for sharing that book with me.

When the opportunity arose for me to read and review the latest book in the V.C. Andrews franchise, I jumped on it.  To be honest, I hadn’t read any other book by the author since my time with Flowers in the Attic.  I was curious to say the least about how this new book would be.  Forbidden Sister is the first in a new series.  It is the story of a young Emmie Wilcox and her struggles with dealing with her older sister who is a forbidden topic in her family.  Emmie tries everyday to not be like her sister, she doesn’t want her father to ever think that she will turn out to be like her.  This is not the easiest thing in the world to do because Emmie barely remembers Roxy and all she knows of her now is that she is a high-end prostitute.  Emmie feels like something is missing in her life and she knows it is the relationship that she should have with Roxy.  Through a series of tragic events, Emmie does try to build a relationship with her sister.  This story is mostly about that relationship.

I did enjoy this book and I am interested in reading the series because I would love to know what happens next for these sisters.

I would give this book 4 crowns for book club groups.        4_crowns

As I did a little research for this book, I found out that V.C. Andrews passed away in 1986.  The estate hired a ghost writer to write in the same style.  I thought that was an interesting idea.  It makes me wonder why someone would want to ghost write for someone else.  Wouldn’t you want the credit for your own work?  I would love to hear your thoughts on this.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction

Leave a Reply

