Everything, Everything by: Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything     This is the first book I read for #ARCAugust.  It is set to be released on September 1, 2015. 

Now since I am almost 35 years old, I don’t normally gravitate to reading YA contemporary books too often.  However, there are times when a YA contemporary is just what I need.  This book was everywhere at BookCon this year and I was not able to get my hands on it there.  However, I was lucky enough to have won a bag full of books from BookCon through a Twitter contest held by @RileyMarie1196 in June and received some books that I hadn’t gotten.

Let me start by saying that the cover of this book is stunning.  The details and colors attracted me from the moment that I first saw it.  This is a debut novel about a young girl who is allergic to absolutely everything.  She has never been outside of her house since she was diagnosed.  She has never had a problem with that until a boy her age moves into the house next door and catches her attention.

Without going into too much detail, this is really a story of risks and love;  not just the risks and love between teenagers, but that of family, friends and the world around you.  It was beautifully told and the drawings and graphics of some of the pages really added a special element to this story.  It left me with the question of:  How far would you go and what risks would you take to protect the ones you love?

5_crowns

Leave a comment

Filed under Young Adult

Leave a Reply

