Week 2 #ARCAugust Update

bourbon kings

Week 2 was a successful week for me.  I read The Bourbon Kings by J.R. Ward.  I have never read anything by this author before and was weary going into this book.  It is not normally the type of book that I pick up to read but because of #ARCAugust, I did.  I am so happy that I did too.  This was a great book and I can’t wait to read the next in this series.  The only negative thing I have to say is that because this was an ARC, I have to wait a while for the next book.  I gave this a 4 stars on Goodreads.

Those Girls

Next up was Those Girls by Lauren Saft.  This was a book I did not finish.  Honestly, I barely started it.  I was so annoyed in the first couple of pages that I refused to give this book any more of my time.  This is a YA book, but I don’t mind reading those.  The content and language and issues of this book in the first few pages were so much of a turn off to me.  Taking the day after pill repeatedly as a high school student, using foul language for every other word; I work with college students and I hear it everyday, I do not need to nor want to read about it at home.

A Thousand Nights Release date: October 2015

Lastly, I was able to read and finish A Thousands Nights by E.K. Johnston.  This was a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights (Arabian Nights).  It is a YA book and a fun read.  The main character did not have a name which made it feel as if it could have been a story of anyone.  I never really noticed that she didn’t have a name.  The only issue I had was the over-usage of the phrases “my father’s father’s father” and “my mother’s mother’s mother”.  If that had been used once or twice, it would have been ok but it was repeated several times in a span of two pages.  The cover art of this book is gorgeous.  There is something about the colors that draw me in.  They are subtle and vibrant at the same time.  This is not the only retelling of this story to be release this year, however, it is the only one that I have read thus far.  I gave this 3 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

