September Wrap Up

If you’ve read my last post, you know that I planned to read some books in September that would help me “better myself”.  I am happy to say that I did read those books.  Now, I have to put into practice what I’ve read.

First up…

Rising Strong  I had recently finished reading The Gifts of Imperfection and knew that I wanted to read this new release in September.  I was not disappointed.  I love Brene Brown’s writing style and TED talks.  She is very relatable and witty.  One of the things that I learned from this book is that we all fall down.  It is imperative to look around while we are down for different perspectives and work our way back up!  This was a great read and a great way to start September.  I gave this book 4 crowns.

4_crowns

The next book I picked up I wound up putting down.   For some reason, I found the writing style of this book to be insulting.  I read a few pages and DNF’ed it.  It was:

the life-chainging magic of tidying up

After putting this book down, I had the chance to attend a book signing and listening event for Jewel.  Now, I was an am a 90’s girl and Jewel’s songs, poems and stories have always inspired and spoke to me.  I was thrilled to sit in a beautiful Barnes & Noble and listen to hear sing and tell a few stories about her life and her new book and CD.  Of course, I knew that there was an opportunity to bring in other books and cd’s that she had produced and I get them signed.  I was ecstatic.  Needless to say my next read was her new book: Never Broken.

Never Broken  You may be wondering why I read this book in September since I said that I would devote it to reading books that I felt would enrich my life.  I absolutely believe that reading about someone else’s life can impact your life.  Reading about their struggles and triumphs can allow you to reevaluate your situation.  This was an amazing book about Jewel’s life and she was honest and open about many things.  I gave it 5 crowns.

5_crowns

I did pre-order a signed copy of Elizabeth Gilbert’s new release Big Magic, however, it still has not arrived.  There is an issue with the signed copies from the site I ordered from.

So, I ended the month with a book that I had on my shelf for a long time.  Crossroads by Wm. Paul Young.

Crossroads  I loved The Shack when I read that years ago and was excited to pick this up.  Although the beginning got off to a slow start for me, the rest of the story made up for it.  I love the way that Young tells his stories.  They are realistic and they teach a valuable lesson.  I gave this book 4 crowns.

4_crowns

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “September Wrap Up

  1. You wrote reviews for two books I wanted to read. They are Crossroads and Rising strong. And reading your reviews I see they are worth of my time.

Leave a Reply

