The Woman in White by: Wilkie Collins

5890

Synopsis from Goodreads: ‘In one moment, every drop of blood in my body was brought to a stop… There, as if it had that moment sprung out of the earth, stood the figure of a solitary Woman, dressed from head to foot in white’

The Woman in White famously opens with Walter Hartright’s eerie encounter on a moonlit London road. Engaged as a drawing master to the beautiful Laura Fairlie, Walter becomes embroiled in the sinister intrigues of Sir Percival Glyde and his ‘charming’ friend Count Fosco, who has a taste for white mice, vanilla bonbons, and poison. Pursuing questions of identity and insanity along the paths and corridors of English country houses and the madhouse, The Woman in White is the first and most influential of the Victorian genre that combined Gothic horror with psychological realism. -taken from Goodreads

My Thoughts:  I started to listen to an audiobook version of a book that I have had on my TBR shelf for a while.  I picked up the classic The Woman in White and really got in to the narration.  The pronunciations of the characters and towns were helpful to hear because I later had to finish the story in its’ physical form.  I listened to a bit more than 1/3 of it and then the library loan was up.  I happily picked up the book form my shelf and continued to read it. If you are interested in audiobooks, I highly recommend at least starting this book that way and then switching to reading it.  It moves very smoothly and is easy to keep up with.  It is a long book but well worth the read.  I gave it 5 crowns.

5_crowns

Leave a comment

Filed under Gothic Horror, Mystery

Leave a Reply

