The Looking Glass Wars A trilogy by: Frank Beddor

lookingglasswarsseeingREDDarchenemy

I had the pleasure of meeting Frank Beddor at NYCC 2015 in October.  My husband and I were walking around all of the booths and knowing how much I love Alice in Wonderland, he stopped me at Frank’s booth.  It was the best stop I made that day.  Frank is an endearing man who can describe his series in 1 minute flat.  From the moment he started describing this twist on Wonderland, I was hooked.  I grabbed all 3 novels and had them signed.  I devoured these in the month of October.

The Looking Glass Wars is the first book in this trilogy and it begins with Alyss Heart and her life in and out of Wonderland.  I really do not want to go into detail about these books as it will ruin the stories.  Seeing Redd is the second installment and its’ focus is mostly on Alyss’ Aunt Redd and her reign in Wonderland.  Arch Enemy is the final installment of the trilogy and includes a new enemy character King Arch.

I absolutely loved these books and the twists that each story gives.  I will admit that when I first started the first book, it took some time to get into the world where the characters that we know and love had different names and personalities.  Once I got over that though, it was fast paced and attention grabbing.

In an interesting twist, Frank has created a series of graphic novels that explain what happens to Hatter Madigan in the 13 years he is not in Wonderland.  I have included a link to a video in which you can see Frank’s explanation from the View.  https://youtu.be/aOkkjAD-pZs

Confession time:  I do not like graphic novels or comic books.  I never really got into them but Frank Beddor’s stories will make me get the graphic novels of Hatter Madigan.  In fact, they are on my Christmas wish list!

I gave each book in this series 5 crowns.  What a fun series!

5_crowns

Leave a comment

Filed under Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

