Cookbook review: Whitney Miller’s New Southern Table

new southern table  This is a beautiful cookbook with some delicious sounding recipes.

Book Description from BookLookBloggers.com

MasterChef winner Whitney Miller shares her favorite family recipes with her own unique flair, making them lighter and infusing them with global flavors.

Following her great-grandmothers’ examples of creatively stretching meals during the Great Depression, Whitney Miller transforms recipes from her Southern roots, preserving flavors of traditional family dishes while offering the excitement of her own special touches. She offers a taste of her family table with dishes like Southern Horchata, PB&J Chicken Satay, Dehydrated Okra Chips, Sweet Corn Grit Tamales, Peach Bread Pudding with Sweet Tea Rum Sauce, and much more. Using new techniques and cooking methods, Miller reimagines classic recipes and experiments with flavors from around the world, inspired by her travels since winning MasterChef.

About the Author

Whitney Miller, winner at twenty-two of MasterChef , has been featured across the globe in Southern cuisine cooking promotions and as a judge in food competitions, including the 2013 World Food Championship. Her recipes and articles have appeared in People, Women’s Health, Masterchef, Clean Eating, and Cooking Light magazines, and her cooking demonstrations have been featured in the MasterChef app. She lives in Plant City, Florida.

My Review:  The images in this cookbook are stunning.  I am practically drooling as I turn each page.  I can’t wait to try her recipe for Steamed Biscuit Buns and pair them with Pulled Pork or Sliced Smoked Brisket.  Most of the recipes seem easy enough to create even if some may take a while but to me, that is part of the fun of trying something new especially with loved ones.  When I think of Southern Cooking, my first thought is family.

I did see a few recipes that I don’t think I will ever make, like the Buttermilk Ricotta Cheese (I may be too lazy for that) and one recipe that cracks me up ever time I open that page…Gluten-Free Skillet Toast.  Yes, you read that right, a recipe for toast; not to bake the bread just how to toast it.

I can’t wait to get into this book more with my husband and family helping in the kitchen.

I give this 4 crowns.

4_crowns

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 < http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookbook

Leave a Reply

