Blood, Bones & Butter The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef by: Gabrielle Hamilton

blood bones butter  I have inadvertently participated in #NONFICTIONNOVEMBER by reading a few Non-Fiction books.

I have had this book on my shelf for years.  I remember picking it up once and starting it but I wasn’t interested in it at the time so I never read it.  While searching Overdrive for an audiobook in keeping with my self imposed theme for November, I saw this book.  I decided to give it a chance and get it off my TBR shelf.

The audio version of this book is read by the author and that usually excites me.  I feel that when the author reads their own work, they know the intonations of their story and read it as it was meant to be read.  Unfortunately, I was disappointed by Gabrielle’s reading.  She has a monotone voice that had no inflection in speech.  I found that I was bored and zoning out frequently.  I held on though, so I could finish the book.

Gabrielle has her MFA in fiction writing so I expected her story to be detailed.  It was very detailed and sometimes it felt as if it was too detailed.  I also felt that this story was “wishy-washy”.  Gabrielle jumped back and forth in time so often that I was confused as to when things were occurring.

She goes from thief to restaurateur; lesbian to married to a man and having his children;  hating the cooking life to living it everyday; back and forth, back and forth, the entire story is set up like this.

I liked this book, but not enough to really recommend it.  I give it 2 crowns.

174x64x2_crowns.png.pagespeed.ic.6KtLiIlHGR
Leave a comment

Filed under Non-Fiction

Leave a Reply

