The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry: Love, Laughter and Tears at the World’s Most Famous Cooking School by: Kathleen Flinn

The Sharper Your Knife

I finished out November with one more non-fiction audio book.  While perusing through OverDrive, I noticed this book and figured I would give it a chance.  I am so glad that I did.  This added 1 more book for a total of 3 (not including 2 cookbooks) for #NONFICTIONNOVEMBER.  Not bad for someone who 1. doesn’t normally read non-fiction and 2. didn’t plan on participating.

This is the story of Kathleen Flinn, a 36 year old woman who had just lost her job and decided to fulfill her dream of attending and graduating from the prestigious Le Cordon Bleu.  She wanted to make good on a promise she had made to Julia Child.  With the support of her then boyfriend, she enrolled and then started classes.  Her French was practically non existent but she didn’t let that stop her.

I loved hearing her story and the narrator, Cassandra Campbell has a beautiful tone to her voice and her French was wonderful.  I loved the descriptions of the lessons and of the food.  I could picture in my head the setup of the practice room and the demonstration given by the chefs.  The story didn’t just take place in the school, so it didn’t become monotonous.  What I didn’t know, going into this audiobook, was that at the end of each chapter, there was a recipe.  This was read even in the audio version and I found myself listening to the recipe being read.  That was a bit odd for me but it didn’t take away from the story.  I may even purchase this book to have those recipes on hand.

This was a great book and I highly recommend it.  I give it 5 crowns.

5_crowns

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Non-Fiction

Leave a Reply

