The Five Times I Met Myself by: James L. Rubart

The Five Times I Met Myself

Synopsis from http://www.booklookbloggers.com:

What if you met your twenty-three-year-old self in a dream? What would you say?

Brock Matthews’ once promising life is unraveling. His coffee company. His marriage.

So when he discovers his vivid dreams—where he encounters his younger self—might let him change his past mistakes, he jumps at the chance. The results are astonishing, but also disturbing.

Because getting what Brock wants most in the world will force him to give up the one thing he doesn’t know how to let go . . . and his greatest fear is that it’s already too late.

About the Author:

James L. Rubart is a professional marketer and speaker. He is the author of the best-selling novel Rooms as well as Book of Days, The Chair, Soul’s Gate, Memory’s Door, and Spirit Bridge. He lives with his wife and sons in the Pacific Northwest. Website: http://www.jameslrubart.com Twitter: @jameslrubart Facebook: JamesLRubart

It took me about 70 pages to get into this book.  Once I finally did, I liked it.  It reminded me of a mix of Ww. Paul Young’s The Shack and Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, with a bit of The Time Traveler’s Wife thrown in.  I do not really enjoy books that deal with time travel because I find them to be confusing, however, this book wasn’t so bad.  I liked the Christian elements that were added to it.  It was an interesting premise.

To classify this as a sci-fi/ fantasy book might be a bit far fetched.  There is an element of “time travel” but not in the Doctor Who flying in the Tardis type of way.  The time traveling done in this book was done through lucid dreaming.  Brock is able to control his dreams and talk to the younger version of himself in major periods of his life in order to try and change his future.  Brock and his friends are Christians, so God and prayer are discussed throughout the book as well.

I gave it 3 crowns.

3_crowns

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 < http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Religious, Sci-Fi/Fantasy

Leave a Reply

