The History Major: A Novella by: Michael Phillip Cash

The History Major

If you know anything about me, you know that I do not like history nor do I like to read Historical Fiction.  This is really neither of those things so I agreed to read this when I was given the opportunity to in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

After a vicious fight with her boyfriend followed by a night of heavy partying, college freshman Amanda Greene wakes up in her dorm room to find things are not the same as they were yesterday. She can’t quite put her finger on it. She’s sharing her room with a peculiar stranger.

Amanda discovers she’s registered for classes she would never choose with people that are oddly familiar. An ominous shadow is stalking her.

Uncomfortable memories are bubbling dangerously close to her fracturing world, propelling her to an inevitable collision between fantasy and reality. Is this the mother of all hangovers or is something bigger happening?

My Review:

I thought that the synopsis for this novella sounded interesting so I picked it up last night and finished it this morning.  In all fairness, as a physical copy, it is a mere 120 pages.  I have never read anything by this author before but I know that he has an average of 4 stars for all of his books that are listed on Goodreads.  He is an author from Long Island, New York and I love to read books that are written by fellow New Yorkers.

I loved the writing style of this book and found it intriguing.  It was a thriller but not really in a serial killer kind of way.  It was intense and thought provoking.  It was a bit philosophical and I really enjoyed that.  Even though the main character is a college student, I think that anyone who reads it can learn from it.

I gave this novella 4 crowns.

4_crowns

Leave a comment

Filed under short story, Thriller

Leave a Reply

