A Week in Winter by: Maeve Binchy

A Week in Winter

Book #6 in #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks

This book was first published in 2012 and republished in 2013 and I have had it on my shelf since then.  Maeve Binchy is one of my favorite authors and unfortunately she passed away shortly after finishing this book.  I could not bring myself to read this until now because I did not want to say goodbye.  However, I realized that there are a few more of her books that I haven’t read yet.

Each of her books are set in Ireland (mostly) and involve several characters whose commonality is usually a location.  In this book, the common place is a newly renovated Inn called Stone House.  Chicky Starr is the new owner and has opened the Inn for the first time to guest who will stay for the same week during the winter season.  Each guest is dealing with their own complicated lives and issues and they come to this Inn for many reasons.  I love that each chapter is set up to talk about the characters individually but then come together to fit neatly into the storyline.

I don’t want to give any more details about this story but I highly recommend reading this and all of her other works.  I give this book 5 crowns.  She was an amazing writer and is missed.  R.I.P. Maeve Binchy.

5_crowns

 

Leave a comment

Filed under #ReadMyDamnBooks, Fiction

Leave a Reply

