In the Woods by: Tana French

In the Woods.jpg

I seem to be finding more and more books and authors through watching videos on BookTube.  This is a series called the Dublin Murder Squad and I love murder mystery stories and TV shows.  I was interested in this series because I always read James Patterson’s Woman’s Murder Club and was looking for something different.

This book was definitely different.  If you have ever read any James Patterson books, you know that they are quick reads and have a large font with short chapter.  This book was the exact opposite of that.  The chapters were long and the font is extremely small.  It took a while for me to get through it for those reasons.  I did think that it had a slow start but once it picked up, I couldn’t put it down and had to know the outcome.

The writing style was beautiful.  It was descriptive and I really loved the language used.  This follows 3 main detectives from this squad as they investigate the murder of a 12 year old girl that was found at the site of an archeological dig that will lead to a new motorway in town.  There is an outstanding case that involves the disappearance of two young children back in the 80’s in the same woods where this young girl was found.

It was a good read and I will pick up the next in the series but I will not marathon this series because I feel that it will be too much.

I gave this book 3 1/2 crowns.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mystery

Leave a Reply

