Seconds by: Bryan Lee O’Malley, Nathan Fairbairn (Colorist)

seconds

I have read a graphic novel since I read Archie Comics from the supermarket when I was a kid.  I’m not sure if those really count as graphic novels.  I have always been adamant about not reading graphic novels because they weren’t my type of genre.  I was watching Booktube videos and they were talking about this particular graphic novel.  It caught my interest because it involved a restaurant and if you know me, you know I am a foodie at heart.

This was an adorable story about Katie who owned and worked at a restaurant and wanted to open another restaurant.  She comes across a note that states that if she writes down something that she wants to redo and eats this tiny mushroom, that she can redo that event.  Predictably, once she does it the first time, she can’t seem to stop herself.  This causes, as you can imagine, a chain of events that changes her life.

The illustrations are adorable and the coloring is stunning.  I enjoyed the story and the images and finished this book in less than a day.  It was a fun read.  I gave it 4 crowns.

4_crowns

Leave a comment

Filed under Graphic Novel, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

