Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology by:Leah Remini

Troublemaker

Ever since this book came out, I wanted to get my hands on it and read it.  I put myself on the waitlist at my local library for the e-book edition and it finally came in.  I have always found myself to be interested in people who have found themselves to be a part of and then break away from “organized, cultish religions”.

I am going to assume that we all were surprised that Tom Cruise, the “celebrity face of Scientology” jumped up and down on Oprah’s couch while proclaiming his love for Katie Holmes.  It was very unusual for a Scientologist to behave in this way.  Leah Remini talks very openly and honestly on her views of this situation and her feelings about Tom’s role in the “church”.

I love Leah Remini as a female actress and her snarky personality just adds to her appeal.  Her book is her story about growing up in Scientology and her realization about what the organization really was.  When she finally was able to separate herself from the “church”, she was able to see its’ flaws.  The story is written in her voice and if you are a fan, you know what I am referring to when I say that.

This was an interesting look into her world and what she had to go through.  I will probably look into reading more material from others who have broken free from Scientology, but this was a great place to start.

I gave it 4 crowns.

4_crowns

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Auto-Biography

Leave a Reply

