This Is Where It Ends by: Marieke Nijkamp

This is where it ends

I have read a few books that involve school shootings; Columbine by Dave Cullen and Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Piccoult and have always been interested by them.  I think it is because of my educational background as a School Counselor.  They are the scariest stories to read but if written well, can provide an interesting insight to a situation that unfortunately has become more and more prevalent in today’s society.

This is a YA book that is written in the viewpoint of several of the students of the school during the 54 minutes of the shooting.  Most of the students are inside the auditorium of the school where the shooter is and a few others are outside of the shooting area.

I could not put this books down.  I was emotionally invested in this story and it could be because this is such a current event or because I have a high school aged daughter or because of my career; or a combination of all of these things. It wasn’t because it was the best school shooting story ever written but it did a personal level to this situation.  The Goodreads reviews are very harsh and I don’t really understand why.  I would recommend this story to anyone who wanted to read more about the thought process of students who are in that situation.  It also involved some diversity issues that YA books today are trying to incorporate more and more.

I gave this book 4 crowns.

4_crowns

Leave a comment

Filed under mature topics, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

