Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage by: Elizabeth Gilbert

Committed

This is a follow up to Eat, Pray, Love and not the first time that I have picked it up to read. I don’t remember how far I read the first time, but I put it down and didn’t go back to it.  I decided to try again, but this time I listened to it on Audiobook.  It was read by Elizabeth Gilbert herself so the impact was much greater.

This was book #14 for #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks.  There is something so soothing to me about Elizabeth Gilbert’s voice.  I really enjoy the inflections and story telling ability that she has.

This novel follows Elizabeth’s journey to marriage (her second) and her fears and trepidations that come with it.  The moments leading up to her impending marriage are both funny and insightful.  Elizabeth researches everything and has talked to many different people about their views and opinions on marriage.  She studies the historical and religious role that marriage has taken over the years.

I found it to be very interesting and I was glad that I picked it up again.  Although I didn’t enjoy it as much as Eat, Pray, Love; I found this to be almost like a study on marriage.

I gave this 3.5 crowns.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under #ReadMyDamnBooks, Non-Fiction

Leave a Reply

