Heart of Glass: A Memoir by: Wendy Lawless

Heart of Glass

Book #18 for #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks was this memoir by Wendy Lawless.  I did not know anything about Wendy before picking up this book to read.  I was sent an unsolicited copy of this book by the publisher.

This is Wendy’s follow up to her debut memoir.  In this book she describes life in her twenties in NYC during the 1980’s.  This book was so well written I didn’t feel as if I had no idea who this person was or what she was talking about.  It was humorous without trying to hard; it was relatable without feeling as if it was fake.  Wendy knew that she wanted to act and she did everything possible to make it in the industry.  Her story was so well told that I cheered for her the entire time as if it were a current event.

I was a kid in the 80’s and so NYC in that time is a bit foreign to me.  I grew up here but didn’t really explore it until much later.  I always was afraid of the City and Wendy’s descriptions let me see it through her eyes.

I really enjoyed this memoir and I am glad that I picked it up to read.  I gave this 4 crowns.

4_crowns

Leave a comment

Filed under Auto-Biography, Non-Fiction

Leave a Reply

