The Goldfinch by: Donna Tartt

The Goldfinch

Book #33 for #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks.

I wanted to participate in the #TomeTopple read-a-thon and had every intention of reading this book and A Little Life because they were both over 500 pages.  I decided to listen to this on audio and physically read the other book.  This book’s narrator was amazing and I thoroughly enjoyed the voices that he used to portray the characters.  I found myself very invested in this story and the character’s lives.  It was brilliantly told and maybe that was partially due to the narrator of the audio book.  I gave up on A Little Life and will count that as a DNF this month.  I think I read about 60 pages and that took me almost 3 days.

After the audio book rental expired, I read my physical copy of this book and that seemed to move a bit slower.  However, it was wonderfully written and I will definitely be on the lookout for her other books.

It is story that deals with the life of a young boy and his growth into adulthood.  It is sad and funny and mysterious and thrilling.  I really loved this story.

I gave this 5 crowns.

5_crowns

1 Comment

Filed under #ReadMyDamnBooks, Fiction

One response to “The Goldfinch by: Donna Tartt

  1. I have this book but I haven’t had a chance to read it yet! Thanks for the review and thanks for signing up for the #VASRP! 🙂 I hope you have an awesome summer full of great books!

Leave a Reply

