The Grotto’s Secret by: Paula Wynne

The Grotto's Secret

Full Synopsis from http://paulawynne.com/the-grottos-secret/the-grottos-secret-synopsis

When the powers of a miraculous healing plant were first discovered in 14th century Spain, it sparked a murderous trail.

Five hundred years later an ancient hand-made book is brought to unsuspecting reality-show host, Kelby Wade. It’s the key to an ancient mystery, one with explosive consequences in the modern world.

Now it’s only a matter of time before the ancient secret gets exposed.

Convinced that her brother’s death was no accident, she is propelled on a perilous quest, from a grotto in rural Andalusia to a bizarre hospital in Surrey, to uncover the mystery.

But her search threatens those she loves the most. At every step she is pursued by a ruthless conspiracy that will stop at nothing to acquire the healing powers of the mysterious plant.

To keep her niece alive, she must stay one step ahead to find out who they are. As she closes in on the finding the plant, she discovers the profound and incredible power that the herb possesses. And the devastating and deadly consequences it will have in the wrong hands.

My Review:  When I received a request to review this book, I immediately said yes.  I am a huge fan of the National Treasure movies and this novel reminded me of that.  One of my top favorite genres to read is mystery and the synopsis of this book hit all of the elements that I love.  Now, if you know me at all or have been following my blog, you may know that I am not a big fan of historical novels.  But again, the National Treasure movies had the perfect combination of mystery and history.

I digress, as this is not a review of the movie franchise.  This is all about this book.  I was hooked from the moment I started reading it and emailed the author immediately and told her how in love with it  I was.  I was so upset that I had to go to work instead of staying home to read this book in its’ entirety.  The characters were perfectly flawed and intriguing.  The way in which the author moved from the present to the past and back again was seamless.

This was a combination of television personalities and doctors, evil corporations and long ago medicinal healers.  My only negative criticism was that even now and again, we got a descriptive look at the male parts of one of the characters.  I understood completely the reasoning behind the usage of it but it was just a bit too much and I thought the point could’ve gotten across with the exact wording that was used.

All in all, I gave this book 5 crowns!

5_crowns

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Adult, Historical fiction, mature topics, Mystery

Leave a Reply

