Don’t You Cry by: Mary Kubica

Don't You Cry

I received a review copy of this book from the publishers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I think it is the covers that made me what to start reading books by this author.  When I was approved to get an ebook of this, I was ecstatic.

Synopsis:

An electrifying tale of deceit and obsession from “New York Times” bestselling author of “The Good Girl “Mary Kubica
In downtown Chicago, Esther Vaughan disappears from her apartment without a trace. A haunting letter addressed to My Dearest is found among her possessions, leaving her roommate Quinn Collins to question how well she really knew her friend. Meanwhile, in a small town an hour outside Chicago, a mysterious woman appears in the quiet coffee shop where eighteen-year-old Alex Gallo works as a dishwasher. He is immediately drawn to her, but what starts as an innocent crush quickly spirals into something far more sinister.
As Quinn searches for answers about Esther, and Alex is drawn further under the stranger’s spell, master of suspense Mary Kubica takes readers on a taut and twisted thrill ride that builds to a stunning conclusion and shows that no matter how fast and far we run, the past always catches up with us.”

My Review:

I devoured this book.  I could not get enough of it.  It was a true page turner and when I thought I had the mystery figured out, I was wrong.  The characters are well developed and it is a true suspenseful mystery.  Quinn is young women and  is easy to relate to.  Alex is a lovable young man who has some stalker-ish tendencies but they are forgivable.

I enjoyed this book and will definitely pick up more books by this author.  I was a bit disappointed by the wrap up at the end.  I felt like it was missing a bit of detail.  The ending came together quickly and I thought it could’ve used a bit more.

I am having a hard time trying to decide on a rating between 4 and 5 crowns.  I guess 4.5 crowns it is!

netgalley_challenge_2016_purple_120

Leave a comment

Filed under Adult, Mystery, Suspense

Leave a Reply

