The Girl From Home by: Adam Mitzner

The Girl From Home

Book #48 for #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks.

I received an unsolicited copy of this book from Stephanie the publicity manager at Gallery Books, the publisher.  I did not request it, but I was happy to get it.  I knew nothing about this book and really didn’t read too much about it so I went into it blind.

Jonathan is a Wall Street tycoon and lives the luxurious life that he has always wanted.  He has all that money can buy and whatever else he wants, he works towards.  One day, life as he knows it comes crashing down around him.

He finds himself going back to his childhood home in New Jersey and visiting his ailing father.  He attends his 25th high school reunion and reconnects with his former classmates.  His life will never be the same.

On the cover of this book it states that it is a Thriller.  I almost wanted to recheck on the definition of thriller.  I would not classify this as a thriller.  It reads as a contemporary with a small twist.  A third of the way through this book, I was still waiting for the thrills.

Do not get me wrong, this reads well.  The story flows for the most part and goes back and forth from Jonathan’s present situation to a few months before.  It is a bit too detailed in the first few chapters about Wall Street type business.  Not my thing!

I gave this book 3 crowns.

3_crowns

Leave a comment

Filed under #ReadMyDamnBooks, Fiction, Thriller

Leave a Reply

