Museum of Extraordinary Things by: Alice Hoffman

Museum of Extraordinary Things

Book #50 for #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks.

Although I own this book, I was having second thoughts about reading it.  I decided to give it a chance by listening to it on audio.  I am so glad I did.  The setting for this book is Coney Island which is in Brooklyn, NY.  I am a New Yorker and work several blocks away from Coney Island, so I was able to picture the area to some extent.  Yes, the years that the story took place were not in the present, but it was still pretty cool to be able to picture the setting so vividly.

This was a fictional novel but some of the events actually happened.  The fires that were detailed really did happen but the characters were purely fictitious.  There were 3 narrators for this audio book and that only made it more enjoyable.  There were a few twists and turns but mainly this is a story about acceptance and deceit.

A very interesting read and I am so glad that I picked it up.

I gave this book 4 crowns.

4_crowns

Leave a comment

Filed under #ReadMyDamnBooks, Historical fiction, mature topics

Leave a Reply

