They Were Christians By: Cristobal Krusen

they-were-chrsitians

Synopsis from Goodreads:

What do Abraham Lincoln, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Louis Pasteur, Frederick Douglass, Florence Nightingale, and John D. Rockefeller Sr. all have in common? They all changed the world–and they were all Christians. Now the little-known stories of faith behind twelve influential people of history are available in one inspiring volume.
They Were Christians reveals the faith-filled motivations behind some of the most outstanding political, scientific, and humanitarian contributions of history. From the founding of the Red Cross to the family crisis that drove America’s favorite president to his knees and cracked his religious skepticism, the fascinating stories of these faithful history-makers will inspire, encourage, and entertain readers of history and biography.

My Review:

Book #58 for #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks.

Ok, just looking at the cover and title of this book, most of you are probably wondering what I was doing reading this.  I don’t enjoy historical reads and non-fiction isn’t my either.  However, the author of this book is a family friend and I was asked to review it.

I read and enjoy Christian literature so that was the surprising part for me when reading this book.  What surprised me the most is how much I enjoyed each chapter.  It didn’t feel as if I was reading a history textbook or a religious doctrine.  This was beautifully written and it flowed seemlessly with some autobiographical connections from the author.  It taught me more about the lives of some of the historical figures that I knew a bit about and also about the lives of people I didn’t know much about.

Christobal’s writing style is beautiful and easy to read.  This easily could have come across as “preachy” or boring but it didn’t.  I am glad that I read it.  If you want to know more about some of our historical figures and their views of Christianity, then pick this up.

I gave this 5 crowns.

5_crowns

Leave a comment

Filed under #ReadMyDamnBooks, Non-Fiction, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

