Splintered by: A.G. Howard

splintered

Book #62 for #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks

I purchased this book a while ago and hesitated to pick it up because I could not get my hands on the other books of the series.  However, I saw that my library had it on audio book to listen to on my Overdrive app and I decided to give it a shot on audio.

This is a type of Alice in Wonderland retelling but the main character, Alyssa, is a descendant of the Alice Liddell from Caroll’s original novel.  In this particular series, Alyssa must go back to Wonderland to reverse a curse that was put on her family hundreds of years ago.  IN typical YA fashion, there is a blossoming love triangle and teenage angst and attitude interwoven in the story.  I am glad that I listened to this as opposed to reading it because I don’t know if I would have enjoyed it as much as I did.  This was very fantastical and detailed.

I am currently listening to the sequel so I guess I did enjoy it.  Needless to say, the cover art for all of these books is absolutely stunning.

I gave this book 3.5 crowns.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under #ReadMyDamnBooks, Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

