The Book of Speculation by: Erika Swyler

the-book-of-speculation

I had purchased this book some time last year from BookOutlet.com and I decided to listen to this on audio.  It is an interesting tale of a young man who receives an antique book in the mail without any clue as to why except that there is a familial name written in it.

This antique book seems to be a ledger of some sort of carnival experience.  Simon makes it his mission to figure out his family tree and try an prevent the inevitable that seems to happen to the women in his family on a particular day.

I really enjoyed the characters and their stories.  It was very well written.  My only gripe is that it involved Tarot cards and fortune telling.  For me, that is something that bothers me.  I do understand why it was in the story, but it annoyed me a bit.

I gave this book 4 crowns.

4_crowns

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, Historical fiction, Mystery

Leave a Reply

