Maeve’s Times: In Her Own Words by: Maeve Binchy

Maeve's Times

After Maeve passed away, her husband gathered a collection of her articles from the Irish Times and had them published into this book.  I was and still am a huge fan of Maeve Binchy.  Her writing was unlike anything I had ever read before and her story telling abilities were bar none.

I listened to this on audio book and found that it was read by her daughter with the same strong Irish accent that I believe Maeve had.  It was as if I was listening to her.  Each of these stories were articles that she had written and published in the Irish Times.  There was no continuous theme except that they are painstakingly honest.

I found myself nodding my head in agreement and laughing at some of the stories.  I did enjoy it but I know that if I had read it, I may have enjoyed it more.  Short stories and/or articles are difficult to listen to.  It is much better, for me anyway, to listen to a complete story.  That being said, her writing was true to that of her full length novels.

I gave this book 4 crowns.

4_crowns

Leave a comment

Filed under Adult, Humorous, mature topics, Non-Fiction, short story, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

