Alice I Have Been by: Melanie Benjamin

Alice I Have Been

This is a historical fiction novel about the life of Alice Liddell Hargreaves, the inspiration behind Alice in Wonderland.  I listened to this on audio book and found it intriguing.  I was a bit disturbed by the relationship between Alice and Charles Dodgson (Lewis Carroll).  This book is a mix of fact and fiction and I don’t know which parts are which but I was not too happy about the closeness of their relationship.

This will not change my love of Alice in Wonderland but it did make me want to know the truth.  I thought the characters were well developed and I really did get absorbed into the story.  My heart broke for Alice as she struggled through life.  I recommend picking this up to read as an aside for anyone that is a fan of the Alice stories.

I gave this book 4 crowns.

4_crowns

Leave a comment