Nowhere to Lay My Head by: Craig Daliessio

Nowhere to Lay My Head

Craig suffered a major blow to his life when the economy collapsed in 2008.  He lost everything; his job, his house, his ability to truly care for his daughter…gone.  He lived in his car for 6 years trying to get some version of his life back.  He didn’t move to another state because he wanted to be close to his daughter.  He needed to be a phone call and a short drive away.

I thought Craig’s story was a sad one.  I can’t imagine not having a place to sleep at night.  What I didn’t like was the political rage that was exhibited in this book.  I am not saying that I was a supporter of the Obama presidency but I was a bit surprised at the blatant resentment shown.  I get that Craig was hurt by the policies and procedures of those terms but I didn’t really want to hear about it.  I was also angered about the way he spoke of government assistance programs.  They were designed to be used in situations like his.  I do not believe that if he accept support that he would become lazy and not continue on his path to a better life.  Yes, the system itself is a mess and it allows for people to take advantage of it.  However, for those who honestly need it, it is a blessing.

What this book needed was a good editor.  There were many parts of this book that were repeated and revisited using the same words.  I was wondering if I had flipped back in the book accidentally.  I found a lot of grammatical errors and that just made me feel as if this was rushed to publication.

All in all, I understand the therapeutic process of writing about these years.  Craig did suffer and his daughter did as well.  I just had a hard time relating some of the decisions that were made.

I gave this book 2 crowns.

174x64x2_crowns.png.pagespeed.ic.6KtLiIlHGR

I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Adult, Auto-Biography, Religious, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

