The How & The Why by: Cynthia Hand Blog Tour & Giveaway

http://www.jeanbooknerd.com/2019/10/the-how-why-by-cynthia-hand.html

SYNOPSIS

A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who gave her up for adoption, this voice-driven narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.  

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORYPraise for THE HOW & THE WHY

“The novel’s great strength is the emotional depth of its characters and the complexity of their relationships. A heartfelt and hopeful story about coming of age as an adoptee.” ―School Library Journal

“Hand explores adoption’s multiple dimensions with great insight and sensitivity. Inclusive and illustrative: an engaging lesson in timeless family values.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“Cynthia Hand is the master of pulling at your heartstrings. The How & the Why tells both sides of an adoption story with love, compassion, and care. You’ll be reaching for your tissue box with this one — if you can stop turning pages long enough, that is.” ―Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times Bestselling Author of Letters to the Lost

“Beautifully rendered and superbly shaped. Hand has crafted an absorbing novel that focuses on family, friendship, teen pregnancy, adoption, personal choices, and serious health issues. Give this exquisite novel to readers seeking an emotionally intricate story.” ―Booklist (starred review)  

My Review

This was a fabulous, heart-string pulling, honest look at the lives of all of the people involved in the adoption process. Even though the story itself was fiction, the author herself was adopted at six weeks old and lived with some of the same questions that the main character Cass had. I loved how each character in this story had an important role to play and how significant they were.

This was my first read from Cynthia Hand but it won’t be my last. I highly recommend to anyone of any age, sex, religion or ethnicity to pick this up. I gave this book 5 crowns.

PHOTO CONTENT FROM CYNTHIA HAND

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of several books for teens, including the UNEARTHLY trilogy, THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYEMY LADY JANE and MY PLAIN JANE (with fellow authors Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows), THE AFTERLIFE OF HOLLY CHASE, and the upcoming novel THE HOW AND THE WHY (Fall 2019). Before turning to writing for young adults, she studied literary fiction and earned both an M.F.A. and a Ph.D. in fiction writing. She currently resides in Boise, Idaho, with a husband who’s addicted to typewriters, two kids, two cats, one crazy dog, and a entourage of imaginary friends.  

PHOTO CONTENT FROM CYNTHIA HANAD
WEBSITE: http://www.cynthiahandbooks.com/TWITTER: @CynthiaHand
GOODREADS: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3290920.Cynthia_Hand
FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/writercynthiahand/
INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/cynthiahand/

Giveaway is open Internationally. | Must be 13+ to Enter

GIVEAWAY

ENTER HERE: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e849f7751717/

3 Winners will receive a Copy of THE HOW & THE WHY by Cynthia Hand

ENDS: NOVEMBER 25, 2019


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s