Behind Every Lie by: Christina McDonald

Publication Date: February 4, 2020

Description from the Publishers through Netgalley

From the USA TODAY bestselling author of The Night Olivia Fell—an “emotionally charged mystery” (Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author)comes a thrilling new suspense novel about the insidious nature of family secrets…and their deadly potential.

If you can’t remember it, how do you prove you didn’t do it?

Eva Hansen wakes in the hospital after being struck by lightning and discovers her mother, Kat, has been murdered. Eva was found unconscious down the street. She can’t remember what happened but the police are highly suspicious of her.

Determined to clear her name, Eva heads from Seattle to London—Kat’s former home—for answers. But as she unravels her mother’s carefully held secrets, Eva soon realizes that someone doesn’t want her to know the truth. And with violent memories beginning to emerge, Eva doesn’t know who to trust. Least of all herself.

Told in alternating perspectives from Eva’s search for answers and Kat’s mysterious past, Christina McDonald has crafted another “complex, emotionally intense” (Publishers Weekly) domestic thriller. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell’s I Found You and Karin Slaughter’s Pieces of HerBehind Every Lie explores the complicated nature of mother-daughter relationships, family trauma, and the danger behind long-held secrets.

My Review

This was my first read from Christina McDonald. I have heard of her previous release but hadn’t read it. The premise of Behind Every Lie caught my attention. This story was wonderfully written. I was not bored for a single moment.

Eva is a woman who struggled to accept herself and trust her instincts. Her relationship with her mother was not the greatest and when her mother is found murdered, Eva has no real memories of the event but she does have flashing images of it. Could she have murdered her own mother?

Although my trust for certain characters was not fully present from the beginning of the story, I was intrigued to see of I was correct in my judgments.

This is a domestic thriller that I recommend. I gave it 4 crowns.


I have received this E- ARC from the publishers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s