Falling by T.J. Newman

Publication Date: July 6, 2021

Description from the Publishers

“Stunning and relentless. This is Jaws at 35,000 feet.” —Don Winslow
Falling is the best kind of thriller…Nonstop, totally authentic suspense.” —James Patterson
“Amazing…Intense suspense, shocks and scares…Chilling.” —Lee Child
“The perfect summer thriller. Relentlessly paced and unforgettable.” —Janet Evanovich

You just boarded a flight to New York.

There are one hundred and forty-three other passengers onboard.

What you don’t know is that thirty minutes before the flight your pilot’s family was kidnapped.

For his family to live, everyone on your plane must die.

The only way the family will survive is if the pilot follows his orders and crashes the plane.

Enjoy the flight.

My Review

Are you looking for a book that will keep you on the edge of your seat and biting at your nails? This is that book. I truly admire all flight personnel that get on the planes and take care of the passengers on a regular basis. Although I am not a horrible flyer, it is not something that comes naturally to me and can be a bit unnerving. This book took that plane ride and turned it on its’ head.

Although the first few pages is very graphic in nature, the rest of the story does not follow that pattern. I was so absorbed in the story and did not want to put it down until it was finished.

I don’t want to give away spoilers but I will say that although I understand why the author used the kidnapper’s background the way that she did, I was hoping for more of a personal connection between him and the pilot and his family.

All in all, I recommend this read but not if you are reading it on a flight.

I gave this book 4.5 crowns.

I received this E-ARC from the publishers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Maidens (Audiobook) by Alex Michaelides

Description from the Publishers through Netgalley

“Stunning… The intelligent, cerebral plot finds contemporary parallels in Euripides’s tragedies, Jacobean dramas such as The Duchess of Malfi, and Tennyson’s poetry. The devastating ending shows just how little the troubled Mariana knows about the human psyche or herself. Michaelides is on a roll.”
—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A deliciously dark, elegant, utterly compulsive readwith a twist that blew my mind. I loved this even more than I loved The Silent Patient and that’s saying something!”
Lucy Foley, New York Times bestselling author of The Guest List

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Patient comes a spellbinding tale of psychological suspense, weaving together Greek mythology, murder, and obsession, that further cements “Michaelides as a major player in the field” (Publishers Weekly).


Edward Fosca is a murderer. Of this Mariana is certain. But Fosca is untouchable. A handsome and charismatic Greek tragedy professor at Cambridge University, Fosca is adored by staff and students alike—particularly by the members of a secret society of female students known as The Maidens.

Mariana Andros is a brilliant but troubled group therapist who becomes fixated on The Maidens when one member, a friend of Mariana’s niece Zoe, is found murdered in Cambridge.

Mariana, who was once herself a student at the university, quickly suspects that behind the idyllic beauty of the spires and turrets, and beneath the ancient traditions, lies something sinister. And she becomes convinced that, despite his alibi, Edward Fosca is guilty of the murder. But why would the professor target one of his students? And why does he keep returning to the rites of Persephone, the maiden, and her journey to the underworld?

When another body is found, Mariana’s obsession with proving Fosca’s guilt spirals out of control, threatening to destroy her credibility as well as her closest relationships. But Mariana is determined to stop this killer, even if it costs her everything—including her own life.

A Macmillan Audio production from Celadon Books

DURATION9 Hours, 19 Minutes, 1 Seconds

Narrated by: Kobna Holdbrook-SmithLouise Brealey

My Review

From the first time I saw the synopsis of this book, I knew that I wanted to read it. I listened to an audio version of his first book, The Silent Patient and really enjoyed it; so when I was approved for the Audio ARC of this new novel, I was ecstatic.

This a a dark academia novel about girls who are being murdered on campus. These particular girls are a part of an elite “club” called The Maidens and work closely with one particular Professor. This wouldn’t be a story, let alone a Michaelides’ story, if that was all there was to it. This story was captivating and me to the university ever time I picked it up to listen to.

The narrators were stunning. They were on point as the speakers of this tale. They were believable as the characters and brought this to life.

I gave this audio book 5 crowns.

I received this Audio ARC from the publishers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Soulmate Equation by Christina Lauren

Description from the publisher through Netgalley

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“Writing duo and reigning romance queens Christina Lauren are back with The Soulmate Equation, their most ambitious book to date.” —PopSugar

“A sexy, science-filled, and surprising romance full of warmth and wit.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Chosen as a best pick by BustleMarie ClaireEntertainment WeeklyE! OnlinePopSugar, BuzzFeedGoodreadsCountry Living, The Pioneer Woman, Woman’s WorldBookish, Bookreporter, Frolic, and more!

The New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners returns with a witty and effervescent novel about what happens when two people with everything on the line are thrown together by science—or is it fate? Perfect for fans of The Rosie Project and One Plus One.

Single mom Jessica Davis is a data and statistics wizard, but no amount of number crunching can convince her to step back into the dating world. Raised by her grandparents—who now help raise her seven-year-old daughter, Juno—Jess has been left behind too often to feel comfortable letting anyone in. After all, her father was never around, her hard-partying mother disappeared when she was six, and her ex decided he wasn’t “father material” before Juno was even born. Jess holds her loved ones close, but working constantly to stay afloat is hard…and lonely.

But then Jess hears about GeneticAlly, a buzzy new DNA-based matchmaking company that’s predicted to change dating forever. Finding a soulmate through DNA? The reliability of numbers: This Jess understands.

At least she thought she did, until her test shows an unheard-of 98 percent compatibility with another subject in the database: one of GeneticAlly’s founders, Dr. River Peña. This is one number she can’t wrap her head around, because she already knows Dr. Peña. The stuck-up, stubborn man is without a doubt not her soulmate. But GeneticAlly has a proposition: Get to know him and we’ll pay you. Jess—who is barely making ends meet—is in no position to turn it down, despite her skepticism about the project and her dislike for River. As the pair are dragged from one event to the next as the “Diamond Match” that could launch GeneticAlly’s valuation sky-high, Jess begins to realize that there might be more to the scientist—and the science behind a soulmate—than she thought.

“Laugh-out-loud, sweet, charming, and humorous” (Library Journal, starred review), The Soulmate Equation proves that the delicate balance between fate and choice can never be calculated.

My Review

The Soulmate Equation was a fun read. I have been really enjoying the juxtaposition of science and romance in some of the books that I have been reading lately.

Jess was a likeable character that took a chance out of frustration and was matched with someone she least expected. Dr. River Peña was most definitely a hate to love character. I really respected the relationships that Jess had in her life and I rooted for her every step of the way.

Reading a Christina Lauren book is a way to escape and just have some fun.

I gave this book 5 crowns.

I received this E-ARC from the Publishers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.