The Last Chance Library by Freya Sampson

Publication Date: August 31, 2021

Description from the Publishers through Netgalley

A Library Reads Pick

June Jones emerges from her shell to fight for her beloved local library, and through the efforts and support of an eclectic group of library patrons, she discovers life-changing friendships along the way.


Lonely librarian June Jones has never left the sleepy English village where she grew up. Shy and reclusive, the thirty-year-old would rather spend her time buried in books than venture out into the world. But when her library is threatened with closure, June is forced to emerge from behind the shelves to save the heart of her community and the place that holds the dearest memories of her mother.

Joining a band of eccentric yet dedicated locals in a campaign to keep the library, June opens herself up to other people for the first time since her mother died. It just so happens that her old school friend Alex Chen is back in town and willing to lend a helping hand. The kindhearted lawyer’s feelings for her are obvious to everyone but June, who won’t believe that anyone could ever care for her in that way.

To save the place and the books that mean so much to her, June must finally make some changes to her life. For once, she’s determined not to go down without a fight. And maybe, in fighting for her cherished library, June can save herself, too.

My Review

If you are an avid reader than I would assume that you have a love of libraries. Although this book takes place in the UK, maybe libraries around the world are threatened with losing funding. This story is about one such library but it is about so much more than that at the same time.

The library itself is just a building but it is what happens inside of that building that makes the library so very important. I adored each and every quirky character in this novel and instantly connected with them in some way. The debut novel is top-notch and I can’t wait to see what else Freya comes out with.

I gave this book 5 crowns.

I received this E-ARC from the Publishers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward Audiobook and Physical Book Review

U.S. Publication Date: September 28, 2021

Description from the Publisher

Catriona Ward’s The Last House on Needless Street is a shocking and immersive listen perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Haunting of Hill House.

“The new face of literary dark fiction.” —Sarah Pinborough, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes

“The buzz…is real. I’ve read it and was blown away. It’s a true nerve-shredder that keeps its mind-blowing secrets to the very end.” —Stephen King

In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three.

A teenage girl who isn’t allowed outside, not after last time.
A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory.
And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible.

An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried out among the birch trees may come back to haunt them all.

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Nightfire

Narrated by Christopher Ragland

“A chilling and beautiful masterpiece of suspense.” —Joe Hill, New York Times bestselling author of NOS4A2

My Review

If you don’t read any other part of my review but this, I would be okay. DO NOT READ SPOILERS FOR THIS BOOK. GO INTO IT BLINDLY!

I was able to both read and listen to ARCs of this book and, in complete honesty, I preferred the audio version over the actual reading experience. The narrator did an excellent job distinguishing between the characters’ voices and with the physical reading experience, it did not have the same impact.

When you do pick this book up in any format, stick with it through the end. You may feel the need to not finish this book however, it does come together in the end. Trigger warnings are aplenty in this book. Without giving anything away, I can say that this was not my favorite read of this type of novel.

Overall, I gave the audio format 3.5 crowns and the physical version 3 crowns.

I received these ARCs from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Guilt Trip by Sandie Jones

Publication Date: August 3, 2021

Description from the Publishers through Netgalley

In the vein of the Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine Book Club pick The Other Woman, Sandie Jones’s explosive new novel The Guilt Trip will have listeners gripped to the very last chapter. A Macmillan Audio production from Minotaur Books.

They went away as friends.
They came back as suspects.


Rachel and Jack. Paige and Noah. Will and Ali. Five friends who’ve known each other for years. And Ali, Will’s new fiancée.

The three couples travel to Portugal for Ali and Will’s destination wedding. Arriving at the gorgeous clifftop villa, the weekend away is a chance to relax and get to know Ali a little better. A newcomer to their group, she seems perfectly nice and Will seems happy after years of bad choices.

But when Rachel discovers a shocking secret about Ali, everything changes. As the wedding weekend unfolds, the secrets each of them holds begin to spill, and friendships and marriages threaten to unravel.

In Sandie Jones’s explosive new suspense novel, jumping to conclusions can become the difference between life and death.

My Review

I have been able to read early copies of Sandie Jones’ latest releases and was excited to be approved for both the E-ARC and the Audiobook for this book.

I struggled with the audio of this book but I feel that it was because my focus wasn’t completely there. There were many characters that appeared at once and I had a hard time keeping them straight. Once I switched to the physical edition as was able to read it, I was fine. This was no fault of the narrator of the audio edition and strictly my own lack of attention.

The storyline was interesting as it dealt with adult topics that some may not want to read about. The characters did come off as a bit immature and obnoxious and this was not my favorite read from Sandie Jones. By no means was this a bad book, it had its twists and turns and startling conclusion. Overall, I gave this 3 crowns.

I received the E-ARC and the Audio ARC from the publishers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.