The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward Audiobook and Physical Book Review

U.S. Publication Date: September 28, 2021

Description from the Publisher

Catriona Ward’s The Last House on Needless Street is a shocking and immersive listen perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Haunting of Hill House.

“The new face of literary dark fiction.” —Sarah Pinborough, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes

“The buzz…is real. I’ve read it and was blown away. It’s a true nerve-shredder that keeps its mind-blowing secrets to the very end.” —Stephen King

In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three.

A teenage girl who isn’t allowed outside, not after last time.
A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory.
And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible.

An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried out among the birch trees may come back to haunt them all.

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Nightfire

Narrated by Christopher Ragland

“A chilling and beautiful masterpiece of suspense.” —Joe Hill, New York Times bestselling author of NOS4A2

My Review

If you don’t read any other part of my review but this, I would be okay. DO NOT READ SPOILERS FOR THIS BOOK. GO INTO IT BLINDLY!

I was able to both read and listen to ARCs of this book and, in complete honesty, I preferred the audio version over the actual reading experience. The narrator did an excellent job distinguishing between the characters’ voices and with the physical reading experience, it did not have the same impact.

When you do pick this book up in any format, stick with it through the end. You may feel the need to not finish this book however, it does come together in the end. Trigger warnings are aplenty in this book. Without giving anything away, I can say that this was not my favorite read of this type of novel.

Overall, I gave the audio format 3.5 crowns and the physical version 3 crowns.

I received these ARCs from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s