All These Bodies by Kendare Blake

Publication Date: September 21, 2021

Description from the Publisher

From the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series and Anna Dressed in Blood, this new standalone crime thriller was in part inspired by the Charlie Starkweather murders and Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood. Perfect for fans of Courtney Summers, Karen McManus and Holly Jackson. Set in the 1950s, we begin with a lone victim, found on his front porch with his throat cut and his body drained of blood. By the time it’s over, the Bloodless Murders leave a trail of sixteen bodies littered across the Midwest, with no suspects and no witnesses. Only questions: how were the victims chosen? Why didn’t they fight? And where, where is all the blood? Michael Jensen yearns to become a journalist and escape his small-town life. When the Bloodless Murders come to sleepy Black Deer Falls, the only suspect in the case is found with them in the house that night: fifteen-year-old Marie Catherine Hale, unharmed but covered in blood. She claims the murderer abandoned her at the scene, and though her story is suspicious, no one believes her capable of committing the crimes on her own. When Marie refuses to talk to anyone but Michael, he agrees to record her side of the story. But how can he trust her confession when it calls into question everything that he holds to be true? Marie knows that her time is running out. But she chose Michael for a reason, and his search for answers gives her one last chance to tell her truth.  

My Review

This is my first time reading a book by Kendare Blake. While reading, I did forget that the timeline was set in the 1950s as there wasn’t much that created that setting. One of the main characters, Michael, seemed to be younger than he was supposed to be.

The story itself is more of a behind-the-scenes journalism project. There wasn’t much to the thriller component of this story. It read quickly and it was a good story but it wasn’t what I anticipated it to be.

Overall, I gave this book 3 crowns.

I received this E-ARC through Netgalley from the publishers in exchange for an honest review.

The Missing Hours by Julia Dahl

Publication Date: September 13, 2021

Description from the Publishers through Netgalley

From the critically acclaimed author of Invisible City and ConvictionThe Missing Hours is a novel about obsession, privilege, and the explosive consequences of one violent act.

From a distance, Claudia Castro has it all: a famous family, a trust fund, thousands of Instagram followers, and a spot in NYU’s freshman class. But look closer, and things are messier: her parents are separating, she’s just been humiliated by a sleazy documentary, and her sister is about to have a baby with a man she barely knows.

Claudia starts the school year resolved to find a path toward something positive, maybe even meaningful – and then one drunken night everything changes. Reeling, her memory hazy, Claudia cuts herself off from her family, seeking solace in a new friendship. But when the rest of school comes back from spring break, Claudia is missing.

Suddenly, the whole city is trying to piece together the hours of that terrible night.

My Review

I am a fan of Julia Dahl’s other books and was so excited to see that she was releasing something new. I jumped at the opportunity to read an early copy of The Missing Hours. I am sorry to say that I was disappointed. Although the writing style did not disappoint, the storyline did.

The main premise of the story is a tough subject to tackle. Claudia as a main character wasn’t a likable one for me. Although I read this quickly, it felt a bit disjointed to me.

I could not give this book more than 2 stars.

I received this E-ARC from the Publishers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Necklace by Matt Witten

Publication Date: September 7, 2021

Description from the Publishers through Netgalley

The clock ticks down in a heart-pounding crusade for justice

Susan Lentigo’s daughter was murdered twenty years ago—and now, at long last, this small-town waitress sets out on a road trip all the way from Upstate New York to North Dakota to witness the killer’s execution.

On her journey she discovers shocking new evidence that leads her to suspect the condemned man is innocent—and the real killer is still free. Even worse, her prime suspect has a young daughter who’s at terrible risk. With no money and no time to spare, Susan sets out to uncover the truth before an innocent man gets executed and another little girl is killed.

But the FBI refuses to reopen the case. They—and Susan’s own mother—believe she’s just having an emotional breakdown. Reaching deep, Susan finds an inner strength she never knew she had. With the help of two unlikely allies—a cynical, defiant teenage girl and the retired cop who made the original arrest—Susan battles the FBI to put the real killer behind bars. Will she win justice for the condemned man—and her daughter—at last?

Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Harlan Coben

Optioned for film—with Leonardo DiCaprio attached as producer

My Review

This is the first book that I read by Matt Witten and after looking into the author’s biography and finding out that he was a writer for screen productions, I can see why this book was so atmospheric. I found myself envisioning the scenes clearly and getting absorbed into the plot.

Although the nature of the crimes of this book were troublesome and not for everyone, I was captivated by the story and was in it until the end. This story had twists and turns and led to many visible facial expressions that my family witnessed.

If you can stomach the content, I highly recommend this fast-paced read.

I gave this book 4 crowns.

I received this E-ARC from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.