All These Bodies by Kendare Blake

Publication Date: September 21, 2021

Description from the Publisher

From the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series and Anna Dressed in Blood, this new standalone crime thriller was in part inspired by the Charlie Starkweather murders and Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood. Perfect for fans of Courtney Summers, Karen McManus and Holly Jackson. Set in the 1950s, we begin with a lone victim, found on his front porch with his throat cut and his body drained of blood. By the time it’s over, the Bloodless Murders leave a trail of sixteen bodies littered across the Midwest, with no suspects and no witnesses. Only questions: how were the victims chosen? Why didn’t they fight? And where, where is all the blood? Michael Jensen yearns to become a journalist and escape his small-town life. When the Bloodless Murders come to sleepy Black Deer Falls, the only suspect in the case is found with them in the house that night: fifteen-year-old Marie Catherine Hale, unharmed but covered in blood. She claims the murderer abandoned her at the scene, and though her story is suspicious, no one believes her capable of committing the crimes on her own. When Marie refuses to talk to anyone but Michael, he agrees to record her side of the story. But how can he trust her confession when it calls into question everything that he holds to be true? Marie knows that her time is running out. But she chose Michael for a reason, and his search for answers gives her one last chance to tell her truth.  

My Review

This is my first time reading a book by Kendare Blake. While reading, I did forget that the timeline was set in the 1950s as there wasn’t much that created that setting. One of the main characters, Michael, seemed to be younger than he was supposed to be.

The story itself is more of a behind-the-scenes journalism project. There wasn’t much to the thriller component of this story. It read quickly and it was a good story but it wasn’t what I anticipated it to be.

Overall, I gave this book 3 crowns.

I received this E-ARC through Netgalley from the publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s