The Ingredients of You and Me (Hopeless Romantics #3) by: Nina Bocci

Description from the Publishers through Netgalley

From the USA TODAY bestselling author of the “heartwarming and refreshingly sweet” (Lauren Layne, New York Times bestselling author) On the Corner of Love and Hate comes a story about a baker who takes her chances on a new town…and an old love.

After selling her famous bakery back in New York, Parker Adams visits Hope Lake, Pennsylvania, to figure out her next steps. And soon she’s wondering why she ever loved city life in the first place. Between the Golden Girls—the senior women who hold court—and Nick Arthur, her equally infuriating and charming former flame, Parker finds a community eager to help her get her mojo back.

But even though Hope Lake gives her the fresh start she’s been looking for, Parker discovers that it’s not so easy to start over again with Nick. Their chemistry is undeniable, but since Nick is a freshly taken man, Parker is determined to keep things platonic. With a recipe for disaster looming, Parker must cook up a new scheme, figuring out how to keep everything she’s come to love before she loses it all.

Perfect for fans of Amy E. Reichert and Jenny Colgan, The Ingredients of You and Me is a scrumptious romantic comedy that lets you have your cake and eat it too.

My Review:

I didn’t realize that this was the third book in a series but since each book follows a different person, I didn’t feel as if I missed much. I loved the character of Parker. She is a successful business woman who had the opportunity to change her life and try to find what her true happiness is. As she struggles with romantic relationship turned sour and her disappearing ability to bake, she finds her strength and calling while helping a group of elderly woman.

The relationships that are described in this story bring the reader right into the lives of these characters. I was so invested in Parker’s situation and her ideas that I flew through this book.

I recommend this if you are looking for a lighthearted, enjoyable read that will make you crave some sweet treats while reading it.

I gave this book 4 crowns.

I received an E- ARC from the Publishers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and Fortune by: Roselle Lim

Description from the publishers through Netgalley

Lush and visual, chock-full of delicious recipes, Roselle Lim’s magical debut novel is about food, heritage, and finding family in the most unexpected places.  

At the news of her mother’s death, Natalie Tan returns home. The two women hadn’t spoken since Natalie left in anger seven years ago, when her mother refused to support her chosen career as a chef. Natalie is shocked to discover the vibrant neighborhood of San Francisco’s Chinatown that she remembers from her childhood is fading, with businesses failing and families moving out. She’s even more surprised to learn she has inherited her grandmother’s restaurant. 

The neighborhood seer reads the restaurant’s fortune in the leaves: Natalie must cook three recipes from her grandmother’s cookbook to aid her struggling neighbors before the restaurant will succeed. Unfortunately, Natalie has no desire to help them try to turn things around—she resents the local shopkeepers for leaving her alone to take care of her agoraphobic mother when she was growing up. But with the support of a surprising new friend and a budding romance, Natalie starts to realize that maybe her neighbors really have been there for her all along.

My Review

I was intrigued by the synopsis of this book but was a bit disappointed in its’ execution. All of a sudden, there were their unexplained magical elements thrown into the story and I found that they really didn’t have a real impact on the story.

It wasn’t a bad novel, it just wasn’t what I expected. I have read other food related stories both fiction and non-fiction, that kept my interest more.

I gave this book 3 crowns.

I received this E-ARC from the publishers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Shortest Way Home by: Miriam Parker

The Shortest Way Home  Publication Date:  July 31, 2018

Description from the publishers through Netgalley

My Review:

I adored this debut novel from Miriam Parker.  It was exactly what I was in the mood for without knowing it.  It was one of the best books I read this month.  I loved all of the characters in this book and really was invested in the story.  It is a novel on the shorter side at 320 pages and I read it very quickly.  I wanted a glass, okay, really a bottle, of wine and plate of cheese by a fire while reading this story.

I highly recommend this book.  I gave it 5 crowns.

5_crowns

pro_reader_120 I received this E-ARC from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Lying In Wait by: Liz Nugent

Lying In Wait

Description from the Publisher through Netgalley:

From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an “unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page” (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed.

My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.

On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life—wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia’s son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax.

My Review:

I really don’t know how to feel about this book.  I wasn’t too invested in the characters as no one was 100% likable or honest.  The story line was so screwed up, it was a bit of a turn off.  It was a quick read but I am not sure if I would consider it an enjoyable read.  It was depressing and a bit aggravating.  I don’t think I would recommend this book.

I gave this book 2 crowns.

174x64x2_crowns.png.pagespeed.ic.6KtLiIlHGR

pro_reader_120    I received this e-arc from the publishers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Exciting Announcement: I’m Co-hosting a READ-A-THON!!!

Rereadathon2018March_18-24

It’s a Re- read-a-thon to be exact.  I, along with 20 other book lovers, will be getting online to chat about and encourage you to re-read some books.  This is the brain child of Merphy Napeir on booktube at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7FW6FYqPLeQIXMSulBfOLw 

For each day of the read-a-thon there will be 3 hosts across different platforms: Youtube, Instagram and our blogs.  The main twitter handle for us is @ReReadAThon2018

Do you want more awesome news????

On each day of the Re-read-a-thon, there will be 3 separate GIVEAWAYS!  For those of you that haven’t had a cup of coffee yet…that means a grand total of 21 GIVEAWAYS- 24 hour flash giveaways, to be exact, that week and you can enter them all!!!!

During the week, there will be optional challenges to help you set your TBR along with photo challenges for those of you who are all about Books and Pictures!

Here are the Hosts:

Sunday March 18

Bookstagramer: Margoe – A quick read

BookBlogger: Jess – Quick Read

Booktuber: Merphy from Merphy Napier
Featured Blog:

http://frommetoyouvideophoto.blogspot.com

Featured Instagram: @little_dragon_pants

Featured Booktube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7FW6FYqPLeQIXMSulBfOLw/videos

 

Monday March 19

BookBlogger wastepaperprose Childhood Favorite

Booktuber Elle from Elliot Brooks

Bookstagram: Shaegeeksout – Childhood Classics

Featured Blog: Wastepaperprose.com

Featured Instagram: @shaegeeksout

Featured Booktube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiflcKnh5cZiRWK7jlYKwxA/videos

 

 

Tuesday March 20

Bookstagramer:: Callmesensei14 – Greatest Hits: Books that define you

BookBlogger: Sophie K. -How Re-reading helped me love a book more; Sophie K.

Booktuber: Vanessa from PaperFaerie

Featured Blog: bookslikewolves.wixsite.com/blog

Featured Instagram: @callmesensei14

Featured Booktube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDUGKYqBc2vdai5VNQdyahw/videos

 

 

Wednesday March 21

Bookstagramer: Merphy Napier – Favorite Genre

BookBlogger: Nadja – Re-Read from your favorite Genre (thriller)

Booktuber: Roya from Royaevereads

Featured Blog: fit-and-beautiful-heart-reads.blogspot.de

Featured Instagram: @merphynapier

Featured Booktube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvvtQYFehxl0oIWCk9EYSWw/videos

 

 

Thursday March 22

Bookstagramer: Andreasbookss- Favorite Author

BookBlogger: Amylou88 -Re-reading to break a slump

Booktuber: Jo from NotSoAverageJoe

Featured Blog: burstingwithbooks.com

Featured Instagram: @Andreasbookss

Featured Booktube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTFt-4PZgfHrUpanE0-gfBg

 

 

Friday March 23

Bookstagramer:: Bookgoil – First Reread

BookBlogger: wonderlandiansbooks – Old Fave New Edition (re-reading different editions of faves)

Booktuber: Kira from shollyday

Featured Blog: www.wonderlandiansbooks.wordpress.com

Featured Instagram: @bookgoil

Featured Booktube: https://www.youtube.com/user/shollydays/videos

 

 

Saturday March 24

Bookstagramer: CircusofDamned the first book you ever fell in love with

BookBlogger: Candice – Relistening to favorites

Booktuber: Dustin from BookBabble

Featured Blog: https://bookqueenreviews.wordpress.com

Featured Instagram: @circus_of_damned

Featured Booktube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwmOwm8RDzKo6PKe7CJvNzQ/videos

 

So, I have the honor of closing out the week by relistening to favorites.  If you have been here a while, you know I have a fairly long commute to and from work and I utilize that time by listening to Audio books.

My TBR for the week should be up fairly soon but this post should have been up two days ago!

Either way, let me know if you are participating and what your TBR looks like!

We are all so excited!

 

Give a Girl a Knife by: Amy Thielen

Give a Girl a Knife

Description from the Publishers through Netgalley:

Cookbook Review: Food 52 Ice Cream & Friends

Ice Cream & Friends

The Simplicity of Cider by: Amy E. Reichert & GIVEAWAY

The Simplicity of Cider Publication Date: May 16, 2017

Description from the publishers through Netgalley:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Heat by: Bill Buford

Heat

Have you ever wondered what went on behind the scenes of a “celebrity” chef’s kitchen?  In this book, Bill takes us to Babbo, a NYC restaurant owned and operated by Mario Batali.  Although, I am not too sure as to how this came about, Bill winds up working in Mario’s kitchen, starting from the bottom and sweating his way through the different stations.  Along the way, he has the opportunity to travel to Italy and learn different techniques and butchering methods.

The story itself was good but it was very wordy.  This book is huge and each page is filled with smallish font.  I did listen to the majority of this book on audio and that kept me from giving up.  I think that if I read it from start to finish, I may not have made it.  This was part memoir, part gossipy, part travelogue, part foodie fascination.

I gave this book 3 crowns.

3_crowns

A Year in the World by: Frances Mayes

A Year in the World

I love Frances Mayes writing style.  It is no secret that I loved Under the Tuscan Sun and this was just as good.  She has such a way with worlds.  I was able to visualize what she saw and taste what she ate.

This is a travelogue of her trip with her husband that lasted a year.  The visited many countries and were able to learn and experience so much form the native people.  I loved that this book had a mix of locations and foods.  It brought the book to life.

I gave this book 5 crowns.

5_crowns