Well- Behave Indian Women by: Saumya Dave

Publication Date: July 14, 2020

Description from the Publisher through Netgalley

“A sparkling debut.”—Emily Giffin, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author 

From a compelling new voice in women’s fiction comes a mother-daughter story about three generations of women who struggle to define themselves as they pursue their dreams.

Simran Mehta has always felt harshly judged by her mother, Nandini, especially when it comes to her little “writing hobby.” But when a charismatic and highly respected journalist careens into Simran’s life, she begins to question not only her future as a psychologist, but her engagement to her high school sweetheart.

Nandini Mehta has strived to create an easy life for her children in America. From dealing with her husband’s demanding family to the casual racism of her patients, everything Nandini has endured has been for her children’s sake. It isn’t until an old colleague makes her a life-changing offer that Nandini realizes she’s spent so much time focusing on being the Perfect Indian Woman, she’s let herself slip away.

Mimi Kadakia failed her daughter, Nandini, in ways she’ll never be able to fix­—or forget. But with her granddaughter, she has the chance to be supportive and offer help when it’s needed. As life begins to pull Nandini and Simran apart, Mimi is determined to be the bridge that keeps them connected, even as she carries her own secret burden.

My Review

Expectations and culture collide with desire and ambition in this contemporary story of 3 generations of Indian women from the same family. Simran is our main character and the youngest pf the women in her family. She is studying for a degree in Psychology and is engaged to be married; but she isn’t happy with any of it. Nandini is her mother with secrets and ambitions of her own. Mimi is the matriarch and has been someone that Simran can trust with all that she holds inside.

This was a easy read and very realistic. It is not your traditional contemporary book but I highly recommend it.

I gave this book 4 crowns.

I received an E- ARC from the Publishers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hands Up by: Stephen Clark

Description from Goodreads

Officer Ryan Quinn, a rookie raised in a family of cops, is on the fast track to detective until he shoots an unarmed black male. Now, with his career, reputation and freedom on the line, he embarks on a quest for redemption that forces him to confront his fears and biases and choose between conscience or silence.

Jade Wakefield is an emotionally damaged college student living in one of Philadelphia’s worst neighborhoods. She knows the chances of getting an indictment against the cop who killed her brother are slim. When she learns there’s more to the story than the official police account, Jade is determined, even desperate, to find out what really happened. She plans to get revenge by any means necessary.

Kelly Randolph, who returns to Philadelphia broke and broken after abandoning his family ten years earlier, seeks forgiveness while mourning the death of his son. But after he’s thrust into the spotlight as the face of the protest movement, his disavowed criminal past resurfaces and threatens to derail the family’s pursuit of justice.

Ryan, Jade, and Kelly–three people from different worlds—are on a collision course after the shooting, as their lives interconnect and then spiral into chaos.

My Review:

Published in September of 2019, this book couldn’t be more relevant than it is today. After a young black man is killed by a white cop, the world tries to take matters into their own hands through protests and in some cases, violence. With alternating points of view between the white cop, the victim’s sister and his estranged ex- gang member father, this story visits the crime scene from all angles. The story is heartbreaking and the emotions are strongly felt.

I appreciated the fact the the victim’s parents stepped up before a protest turned violent and asked what the violence would prove. I feel the author, who is a black man, made the point that not all cops are bad and that it is the actions of a few that should not lead to the “punishment” of all. In today’s cultural unrest, this was a tough read but I found it to be something that was important. It is not a book that will take you a long time to get through as the story was written very well.

I urge you to pick this up. I gave this book 4 crowns.

I received an E-Book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

The How & The Why by: Cynthia Hand Blog Tour & Giveaway

http://www.jeanbooknerd.com/2019/10/the-how-why-by-cynthia-hand.html

SYNOPSIS

A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who gave her up for adoption, this voice-driven narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.  

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORYPraise for THE HOW & THE WHY

“The novel’s great strength is the emotional depth of its characters and the complexity of their relationships. A heartfelt and hopeful story about coming of age as an adoptee.” ―School Library Journal

“Hand explores adoption’s multiple dimensions with great insight and sensitivity. Inclusive and illustrative: an engaging lesson in timeless family values.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“Cynthia Hand is the master of pulling at your heartstrings. The How & the Why tells both sides of an adoption story with love, compassion, and care. You’ll be reaching for your tissue box with this one — if you can stop turning pages long enough, that is.” ―Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times Bestselling Author of Letters to the Lost

“Beautifully rendered and superbly shaped. Hand has crafted an absorbing novel that focuses on family, friendship, teen pregnancy, adoption, personal choices, and serious health issues. Give this exquisite novel to readers seeking an emotionally intricate story.” ―Booklist (starred review)  

My Review

This was a fabulous, heart-string pulling, honest look at the lives of all of the people involved in the adoption process. Even though the story itself was fiction, the author herself was adopted at six weeks old and lived with some of the same questions that the main character Cass had. I loved how each character in this story had an important role to play and how significant they were.

This was my first read from Cynthia Hand but it won’t be my last. I highly recommend to anyone of any age, sex, religion or ethnicity to pick this up. I gave this book 5 crowns.

PHOTO CONTENT FROM CYNTHIA HAND

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of several books for teens, including the UNEARTHLY trilogy, THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYEMY LADY JANE and MY PLAIN JANE (with fellow authors Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows), THE AFTERLIFE OF HOLLY CHASE, and the upcoming novel THE HOW AND THE WHY (Fall 2019). Before turning to writing for young adults, she studied literary fiction and earned both an M.F.A. and a Ph.D. in fiction writing. She currently resides in Boise, Idaho, with a husband who’s addicted to typewriters, two kids, two cats, one crazy dog, and a entourage of imaginary friends.  

PHOTO CONTENT FROM CYNTHIA HANAD
WEBSITE: http://www.cynthiahandbooks.com/TWITTER: @CynthiaHand
GOODREADS: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3290920.Cynthia_Hand
FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/writercynthiahand/
INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/cynthiahand/

Giveaway is open Internationally. | Must be 13+ to Enter

GIVEAWAY

ENTER HERE: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e849f7751717/

3 Winners will receive a Copy of THE HOW & THE WHY by Cynthia Hand

ENDS: NOVEMBER 25, 2019